Aberg selected as Hogan Award semifinalist

By | April 15, 2022
LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech Junior Ludwig Aberg has been named a Ben Hogan Award semifinalist for the second straight season. The Ben Hogan Award committee, Friends of Golf (FOG) and Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) named the 10 semifinalists for the 2022 Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank on Friday afternoon.

Along with Aberg, the award’s semifinalist includes Sam Bennett (Texas A&M), Eugenio Chacarra (Oklahoma State), Pierceson Coody (Texas), Chris Gotterup (Oklahoma), Cole Hammer (Texas), RJ Manke (Washington), Logan McAllister (Oklahoma) ), Trent Phillips (Georgia) and Michael Thorbjornsen (Stanford).

The three finalists for the award will be named on Thursday, May 5. The finalists will attend a black-tie dinner Monday, May 23, at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, where the winner will be crowned. The winner will receive an exemption into the 2023 Charles Schwab Challenge, played annually at Colonial.

Aberg enters the final weekend of the regular season at No. 3 in the World Amateur Golf Rankings and at No. 7 in the Golfstat collegiate rankings. A junior from Sweden, he is also on the Haskins Award Watch List and currently has five top-10 finishes this season after taking runner-up honors last weekend at the Aggie Invitational. Aberg shot 12-under at last year’s Thunderbird Collegiate to finish in a three-way tie for the individual title.

The Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank annual awards the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer based on all collegiate, amateur and professional events over the previous 12 months. Three of the top six players in the Official World Golf Ranking—No. 3 Jon Rahm (2015, 2016), No. 4 Viktor Hovland (2019) and No. 6 Patrick Cantlay (2012)—are past recipients of the honor, while No. 2 Collin Morikawa (2018, 2019) was a two-time finalist.

Eight seniors, one junior and a sophomore comprise the list of semifinalists. Four of the players (Aberg, Bennett, Coody and Hammer) are previous semifinalists. Coody, a finalist in 2021, earned a spot in the top 10 for the third consecutive year.

Six of the 10 players come from the Big 12 Conference, while two play in the Pac-12 and two in the Southeastern Conference. Seven of the golfers play collegiately in either Texas (four) or Oklahoma (three). Five of the universities represented by semifinalists (Georgia, Oklahoma State, Stanford, Texas and Washington) are home to past Hogan Award winners.

The award’s selection committee, which votes during each stage of the process, is made up of 32 leaders and experts in professional, amateur and collegiate golf both domestically and internationally. In addition, past recipients will be eligible to vote on the final ballot.

The Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank began honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer at Colonial Country Club in 2002. Prior to its move to Fort Worth, the original Ben Hogan Trophy, which utilized a different set of criteria for its winner, was issued at Bel-Air Country Club in Los Angeles beginning in 1990.

Hogan Award winners at Colonial have combined to accumulate 67 worldwide victories, including 49 PGA TOUR wins, and have amassed more than $320 million in prize money across the globe. Additionally, the group has appeared in 12 Ryder Cups, a dozen Presidents Cups and won two FedExCup championships.

In addition to Rahm, Cantlay and Hovland, past recipients include: Ricky Barnes (2003), Matt Every (2006), Rickie Fowler (2008), Doug Ghim (2018), Bill Haas (2004), Chris Kirk (2007), Hunter Mahan (2003), Maverick McNealy (2017), Ryan Moore (2005), John Pak (2021), Patrick Rodgers (2014), Kyle Stanley (2009), Nick Taylor (2010), Sahith Theegala (2020), DJ Trahan ( 2002), Peter Uihlein (2011) and Chris Williams (2013).

2022 Ben Hogan Award Semifinalists
Ludwig AbergTexas Tech, Jr., Eslov, Sweden
Sam Bennett, Texas A&M, Sr., Madisonville, Texas
Eugenio Chacarra, Oklahoma State, Sr., Madrid, Spain
Pierceson Coody, Texas, Sr., Plano, Texas
Chris Gotterup, Oklahoma, Sr., Little Silver, NJ
Cole Hammer, Texas, Sr., Houston, Texas
RJ Manke, Washington, Sr., Lakewood, Wash.
Logan McAllister, Oklahoma, Sr., Oklahoma City, Okla.
Trent Phillips, Georgia, Sr., Inman, SC
Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford, So., Wellesley, Mass.

Since 2002, the Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank has distributed over $825,000 in scholarships to more than 30 universities. For more information, visit TheBenHoganAward.org and follow @BenHoganAward on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.